hello, 2016

Words to sum up how I feel about the new year? Perhaps my favorite – and only – answer these days: I don’t really know yet. It has been a rough past year, and I am definitely ready for a fresh beginning. And this year is a big one for me – the year I graduate from college and begin whatever the hell happens next. It’s exciting, but also incredibly terrifying.

I’m not alone in this, I know, but I don’t have a great track record when it comes to New Year’s resolutions (though trust me, it’s not from lack of trying). But I’ve also come to realize that the real goal is less how many resolutions I can check off a list and more how I move into the next year feeling. I want to be happier, healthier, and closer to the big life goals I’m still setting for myself. And so I’m going to think about these resolutions more as intentions or promises I’m making to myself. I’ve also gotten myself a little notebook to document, among other things, the things that I should do more of and the new things I should try.

Lastly, perfectionist that I am, I’m going to remind myself that these goals are flexible and based on how they make me feel. Finding balance and incorporating new habits is difficult and will take time and may not work out exactly the way I expect – and I am learning to be okay with that.

these are my intentions.

take care of my body

  1. Aim for 7-9 hours of sleep every night
  2.  Eat breakfast every day
  3. Bring a water canteen with me every day
  4. Be intentional about other things that my body needs (tissues, allergy medicine, lotion, cream, etc.)

incorporate exercise into my daily life

  1. Exercise at least three times a week
    • At least one day of cardio
  2. Track progress on thegirlwhoexercises

put my mental health (and myself) first

  1. Keep track of things that make me happy
  2. Give myself at least half an hour to an hour every day for self-care
  3. Find a good therapist and/or support group
  4. Get out of the house (even for a quick walk) every week
  5. Create a “rememberlutions” jar and celebrate small victories
  6.  Do something fun or something off of the “new things to do” list every week (even short things!)

make good meals for myself and others

  1. Cook at least one new recipe every week (even simple!)
  2. Eat at home at least three nights a week

create morning and evening routines so i begin and end a day mindfully

  1. Wake up at least an hour before I need to leave the apartment
  2. Wake up by 8:30 am on weekdays and 10 am on weekends
  3. Work on creating and testing routines (a longer and shorter version)
  4. Make time for meditation in the morning or evening
  5. Make my bed every morning

keep in touch with people and create meaningful relationships

  1. Hang out with friends at least once every week (even studying!)
  2. Check in with an old friend at least once every other week
  3. Meet at least two new people in every class

read more 

  1. Read at least one book per week
  2. Keep track on Shelfari and Goodreads

keep learning more

  1. Review material from old classes
  2. Read at least one academic/non-fiction book every month

 

Leave a Reply

